Around the Bend

What can I say, my friends?

It has been so long since our last conversation. Why is it that whenever I draw close to people, I find their goodness for so short a time before we are rent apart again?
The missions trip to Louisiana was an experience, to say the least. I invested of my time in the other group members and in the members of the community we were serving. What a release, to serve others so selflessly.
I’ve heard tell of the 5 Love languages. It’s an interesting concept, though I must say, after reading some of the material, I certainly would not have guessed that I express love in acts of kindness. It makes sense now I stop to think on it, but two weeks ago? I’m not sure.
Odd (isn’t it?), that cleaning a church bathroom, or setting up chairs, or sorting donated clothes could be considered acts of love. Odd that sitting with young girls at a table for dinner and just having a conversation is an act of love. Or trying a little bit of every home-cooked dish, thinking “Vegetarianism be darned!”
I’m back at the Arbor now and am especially tuned in to how I perceive–and give–love. It’s nearly the end of the year. Have I made lasting relationships? Have I treated people as though they are individual beings and not just bodies? If I am able to see to the depths of others, what good is it to waste on frivolous relationships? On the other hand, how can I commit to so large a crowd?
I have striven for love this year, especially after returning from Costa Rica. Have I showed others that love I’ve discovered? I think I have. Actually, I certainly think I’ve tried. Perhaps this is the depth of my heart: in having one conversation, I will love a friend.
We are all about to separate. Why are we allowed so few moments in which we can truly connect?
What can I say, my friends? I have spent the last few weeks catching up on homework and loving people. Shall I be faulted in that?
I shall try to write soon. Have a wonderful evening.
2 thoughts on “Around the Bend

  1. Your blog has been recommended to us as a interviewee's favorite blog!

    We would like to do an interview with you about your blog for Blog
    Interviewer. We'd
    like to give you the opportunity to
    give us some insight on the “person behind the blog.”

    It would just take a few minutes of your time. The interview form can
    be submitted online here Submit your
    interview
    .

    Best regards,

    Mike Thomas

Leave a Reply

