The One

Is there One person for me? How do I find my true soulmate? What if I can’t figure out who It is?

During my day-job, I work part-time on campus in a small office that sees plenty of students. Naturally, I try to make friends, if only for a few semesters. Yet I hear similar questions at some point throughout the friendship.

How do you know you found The One? What if you’re wrong?

Is love just a matter of chance? Should we pick up and move on after our feelings? What about following our hearts?

If we expect to never fight, argue or disagree with one specifically destined spouse out of the 6.4 billion people on the planet, how do we expect to find such a one?

Some people believe that, since we cannot be sure of anything, we cannot stay with just one person. Others, that marriage needs to be fixed so it represents today’s philosophy on relationships.

Where do we start? We know from our discussions on Tolerance, that any attempt to define it suggests an overarching Truth. This discussion is similar.

As soon as we define The One, we must also agree on a definition of marriage, dating and cohabitation. These definitions must be the same across the board in order to fully understand what we are discussing. Naturally, we will have to use terms of theory.

Therefore, we can theoretically state that dating is temporary, cohabitation is semi-permanent, and marriage is permanent. My reasoning is this: most complaints about marriage are that you can’t get out of it very easily. Many people cite cohabitation as the better choice, since you can move out when the relationship ends. Thus, my theory on cohabitation vs. marriage, above.

So ho can we know when we’ve found The One? Do we get googly-eyed and silly? Do we act differently?

Newsflash: If the symptoms above happen on a regular basis, can we assume they relate to a once-in-a-lifetime phenomena? Of course not. What then? Do we move to “grazing” relationships?

Do we, indeed? More later.

2 thoughts on “The One

  1. thenarcissistwrites says:

    I don’t believe in “the one.” I think we all have multiple soul mates. We’re not so unique that there is only one person out there perfect for each of us.

  2. I understand your point, but I disagree about the uniqueness. I hope to explain it more fully when I write again, but thank you for commenting!

Leave a Reply

