Changes

Who’s that handsome guy shaking hands with the Dean of the IU Jacobs School of Music? That would be my newly-graduated husband, that’s who!

Obviously, as many would have guessed, I am beyond excited for my husband. Matthew has worked incredibly hard to finish this degree, spent many hours studying, working a part-time job, and has still found a way to come home every single evening. That’s no small accomplishment. As I have gotten to know–and have become friends with–many of Matthew’s colleagues and classmates, I find that a regular “going home” schedule is quite uncommon. I am always amazed at his commitment to put our relationship first. Although I didn’t like when he would go in to do homework on Saturdays (sometimes), I knew that he did it so he could come home on the weekdays. What a thoughtful, intelligent and caring man I have!

Now that the academic summer has officially started, we’re praying for courage to do what we think God is calling us to do, and faith to not look back in uncertainty. Matthew will be starting a new program with the IU Informatics, to add it to his Musicology master’s degree. We want to be more involved with our church, but we don’t want to over-commit and get burnt out. My most recent job position was terminated (my last day was on Friday), so I’m looking for something that may last another two years. And, as always, we want to make time for us.

Sometimes, these are the things I wish we were taught in high school. They would have had catchy names, like “Compromise in Relationships” and “Short-term planning on a Budget” and “Community Involvement without Self-Destruction”… I mean, yes, it was very important to learn how to write a check, but how many people still use them? Clearly, while we all know that Life is about making mistakes and learning from them, many of us lack the sense to know when we’re at a crossroads that will result in these learning opportunities.

Also, it’s very easy to get discouraged when it feels like I try so hard to support Matthew, but he still has to get a part-time position so we can pay bills.

I have a song on repeat called Wayfaring Stranger, and it makes me feel a little better. It’s recorded by a Nashville, TN artist named Matthew Smith, who takes old lyrics from hymns and spirituals and puts them to new (or new-er) music. Click here to read the lyrics and/or buy the song to support the artist.

Sigh. Sometimes, I wish it weren’t quite so taxing. But, if my options are between struggling through it or laying down and giving up, I think I would rather struggle.

My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations; Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience. But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.   –James 1:2-4, KJV

Leave a Reply

