Faith

A word to the wise: Don’t EVAR pray for patience, faith, or humility, because God is faithful, and he will grant the experiences to develop them.

In light of this, James, a disciple and brother of Jesus wrote the following:

My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations; Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience. But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.   –James 1:2-4, KJV

And, to encourage us further in “divers temptations,” he also continued:

Blessed is the man that endureth temptation: for when he is tried, he shall receive the crown of life, which the Lord hath promised to them that love him.   –James 1:12, KJV

Notice that in v.12, the rest of the sentence promise reward for withstanding. As though the victory is already mine.

Many of you picked up on the fact that I am currently looking for a job. I truly appreciate others’ concern and helpful suggestions because I know people mean well. The problem comes when I feel so discouraged that every helpful tip seems a censure on my ability to properly pursue a job. This is a classic, “It’s not you, it’s me,” situation. Also, chances are that I have tried quite a few of the common suggestions I’ve already been given, but to no avail.

**SIDE NOTE: Matthew and I have been reading Jane Austen out loud to each other since January. Yes, I tend to imbibe the language I read. Sorry… /SIDE NOTE**

In any case, the only recourse left to me is faith. There is little more that I can do to encourage any employer to make a decision regarding my potential ability to do the job well, or to hurry them in their attempt to be thorough… Now is the time to sit. Sit, and be silent, since the “trying of my faith worketh patience.” How true it is!

At least I can still use the computers at the Music Library. I had to get a guest passphrase, but I’ve been checking my email every day (that’s a first…) and I’ve applied to quite a few positions.

Everything gets harder when I take the bus back to the apartment. I find myself despondent, unwilling to begin a project, or finish things I’ve started, or unable to focus on what I read. It is a daily struggle to “count it all joy,” as I remind myself to do, but in endurance, I am blessed.

Encourage someone today; lift others up, Reader.

Leave a Reply

