Monday

Well, I had quite an interesting weekend. At times, it felt like everything was conspiring against me.

In addition to multiple projects I wanted to work on (but never got around to doing), our vacuum cleaner filter was still too wet to vacuum our apartment (we realized this after we had put powder down), we started a recipe too late and had to leave half-way through for another commitment, we spilled things, we tripped over things, and…my coat was accidentally taken. With my keys in the pocket.

Sigh.

What do we do when life gets us down? Just keep swimming.

On the bright side, I spent the weekend with my husband. We planned for a lot of projects (that we’ll have to do later), and we made dinner together. I still have my hat and my phone and my wallet–I didn’t put those in the pockets of my coat, but in my purse–and I read a book. Technically, it was a play, “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child”, but book-format. If anyone is interested, here’s the review I wrote on Goodreads. ***WARNING: THERE ARE SPOILERS!!***

I got to work this morning, and suddenly noticed all sorts of small, scented puddles on my chair and on the floor. They were coming from my bag where my hanging hand sanitizer bottle had come open. Everything I’m sitting on right now has 99%-less germs.

Also, I’ve forgotten my phone.

Oh well. I thought about naming this post “Perspective”, but maybe I’ll save that title for another day. The thing is, it snowed almost all yesterday, and the temperature this morning was low 30s, so roads were slick (I rued the loss of my winter coat). I got off the bus this morning and realized there was a car parked with its hazard lights on, and an EMT vehicle. There were two people on the ground, and an EMT was trying to resuscitate one of them.

I don’t know what’s become of them, the victims. I don’t even know what happened. But I do know that losing my coat is nothing to losing my life. In fact, it seems that my troubles so often blind me to things happening around me, and to what’s really and intrinsically important. It’s hard to separate the important parts from the superficial, but shocks like this morning’s always have a way of righting my view. So, today’s already been a bit rough, but it hasn’t been hopeless: I’m still alive and there is a purpose for me.

Reader, don’t ever give up. Life is worth the living.

Leave a Reply

