Use

This title took a little bit of thought, and is meant to reference time, as in “the use of one’s time.”

One of my favorite profs in college used to stress that we all spend time on the things we love most. This is especially true when it comes to (for me) the things we would rather not do. I can find all manner of ways to procrastinate from doing what is needed, instead doing what I want (but is completely unnecessary).

A few posts ago, I wrote about trying to change habits. Maybe the habit I should work on most is my habit to dither from chores and important tasks that need to be done.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m a very hard worker, and I feel I meet most tasks with the aim to complete them and not avoid them. But when I get off work and get back to my apartment, I could be helpful by clearing the dishrack right away…or I could read this kind of interesting book that I don’t really like, I just don’t want to do the other thing…

The worst part is that I may not even enjoy my distraction–I just want it to keep me from whatever I should be doing. What a waste of time!

I want to use my time better, Reader. I want to be fully connected to what’s happening right now, and take the initiative to do the things I’d rather not do. Hopefully, in so doing, I’ll look back on my life and say I was industrious. Even rest is purposeful! We rest to give our bodies time to regenerate, meaning that something in my body is working hard, but I don’t need to stress about it.

It seems that most of us are loaded with distractions. We know what we should do, but we choose not to do it, by choosing to do something else instead. No action is still a choice; we must choose to ignore the other task.

My husband and I decided a few years ago that we wanted to be as unplugged as possible at home. Then we worked to have meaningful conversations and quality time. The problem is that there are still distractions, but perhaps this is because I’m used to the distractions elsewhere that I seek them out at home. Either way, I need to be more conscious of what I do, the words I speak, the actions I take, how I want to be more compassionate–everything needs to be a conscious choice. That is the only way to break a habit, to be conscious about it.

Leave a Reply

